Lougheed House proudly debuts a new national travelling exhibition created by the Canadian Centre for the Great War in Montreal.

After the War: Coming Home and Fitting In At The End of the Great War is an exhibit of approximately 45 WWI-era photos and artifacts that reveal the experiences of returning Great War veterans, their struggles, and their contributions to Canadian society as we know it today. The exhibit looks at the efforts made by Canadian society to provide support to the over six-hundred thousand members of their veterans population, and their families, who had fought, and in some cases died, for their country in the largest military engagement Canada had experienced. By considering reintegration through several lenses, the exhibition and accompanying catalogue provides insight into the task facing Canadians.

The exhibit also features rarely seen artifacts from the Lougheed House collection, including Clarence Lougheed’s Canadian Army Service Corps ID bracelet, a cane presented in 1925 to Sir James Lougheed for his service in the Senate, and a WWI cigar box “trench art” from Canada’s 14th Battalion.

Making artificial limbs for crippled soldiers of our allies”, Hangar Artificial Limb Company, 1917, Canadian Centre for the Great War, 2017.06.01

Sir James Lougheed, who built Lougheed House, was variously, between 1915 – 1921, Acting Minister of Militia and Defence, Chairman of Canada’s Military Hospitals Commission, and Minister of the Soldiers’ Civil Re-establishment. In these official roles, he contributed greatly to the experience of soldiers on the front and in their experience coming home. Additionally, two of sons served in the Great War and so he would have been keenly aware of the needs of returning soldiers, both physically and psychologically.

The exhibition includes the personal stories of Thomas Austin Bradford, his brother William Colborne Bradford, and Angus Goodleaf; all former soldiers of the Canadian Expeditionary Force.

  • 250 000 Canadian military personnel were demobilized at the end of the war, a process that took until the summer of 1919 to complete.
  • 172 000 military personnel were wounded during the war, many to such a degree that they could not return to their previous jobs.
  • A reported 12% of those suffered from psychological injuries; this does not include those who struggled with PTSD in their post-war lives.

Cigar box trench art, collection of Lougheed House

“For many Canadians, the war did not simply end. They and their families struggled with its effects throughout their lives, and its social changes continue to have a presence in our world today. I hope that viewers of this exhibition will leave with a better understanding of the long-term consequence of the war, on the lives of people, and on our country,” said Caitlin Bailey, Executive Director & Curator of the Canadian Centre for the Great War. “Learning about past and present veterans not only honours their service, it helps us better understand the changes needed to become a more just society that takes care of all its members, especially the most vulnerable.”

About The Canadian Centre for the Great War

Our mission is to preserve, protect artifacts and archive related to the Canadian experience of the First World War and to inform Canadians of the same. We do not attempt to highlight the large historical events of the war, but rather present personalized narratives of the many experiences that touched Canadians during this period.


Pte. Arsène Bélanger with an unknown woman, c1918-1919, Canadian Centre for the Great War, 2014050101-02

About Lougheed House

Lougheed House is a hub of cultural happenings and programs, and the heart of Calgary’s Beltline community. A National and Provincial Historic Site and Museum located on our original 2.8 acres, our 14,000 square-foot sandstone prairie mansion was completed in 1891 by Senator James Lougheed and his wife Lady Isabella. It remains one of the finest residences in Canada’s Northwest and was the political and social hub of a fast-growing Calgary from 1891-1936. We offer spectacular flower & vegetable gardens (free and accessible 24 hours) and indoors we offer (with paid admission) self-guided and guided tours, audio tours, historic interpreters (if booked in advance) and year round revolving exhibits, concerts and happenings produced in partnership with our cultural collaborators. www.lougheedhouse.com


Admission prices
$8.50 Adult; $6.50 Seniors & Students; $5.00 Children 6-12; $25.00 Families
Children under 6 are admitted free of charge.

Lougheed House is at 707 – 13 Avenue SW Calgary, AB T2R 0K8 and is open
Wednesday – Friday, 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Phone (403) 244-6333

The Restaurant at Lougheed House serves lunch Wednesday – Sunday, 11:00 – 2:00 p.m., and brunch, Saturday and Sundays only, 10:00 – 2:00 p.m.



This exhibition will explore early resource development, the relationship between Calgary’s sandstone and Alberta’s oil sands, and our relationship with the land, specifically stone. Metaphorically, James Lougheed’s legacy is encased in and represented by this sandstone mansion, much like Calgary’s legacy is inextricably linked to the oil industry. This project will explore the impact sandstone/oil has had on the history of Calgary; how much of Calgary’s history and current situation is a result of its geology? Are Calgarians willing to move beyond the basic facts of their geology?

It will also ask broader questions related to our relationship with the land: Does looking at human history though the lens of geologic time affect how we view our own histories? How would our perspective change if we were to view stones, minerals, oil deposits, and quarries as an archive of human and non-human experience? What stories can be told through stones?

Featuring artwork by:
Kelly Andres
Alana Bartol
Caitlind Brown, Wayne Garrett and Lane Shordee
Emma Gammans
Megan Green
Jennifer Ireland
Chase Key
Stephen Riether
Isabel Porto
David Yowney
Philip Vandermey and Jessie Andjelic


Recent Exhibits 

Getting on the Map: The Emergence of Calgary, Post-Confederation

February 10 – May 29, 2017


This exhibit uses a combination of reproductions and originals of early maps, photographs and artwork about Southern Alberta to tell the fascinating story of the Calgary frontier as it was in the 1870s and 1880s, more than 30 years before Alberta joined Canada.

On the 150th anniversary of Confederation, this exhibit connects the dots between the formal creation of Canada in 1867 and the establishment, eight years later, of a small police outpost known as Fort Calgary. Dozens of artifacts, images, books and other visual culture about the Calgary area in the 1870s and 1880s reveal a frontier changing from settler colonialism, the whiskey trade, Treaty 7, the CPR and the NWMP.

Read the Calgary Herald article about the exhibit: http://calgaryherald.com/entertainment/local-arts/lougheed-house-exhibit-chronicles-calgarys-humble-post-confederation-emergence 

This exhibit explores the view that Calgary emerged not only from Confederation and unification, but also due to Canadian settler-colonialism, as part of a concerted effort to develop and exploit the resources of the territories. For the West, the most significant consequence of Confederation was a change in colonizing power from Britain to the newly formed Dominion of Canada.

The visuals in the exhibit reveal a Eurocentric perspective of an emerging frontier town when this land and its people experienced the impact of settlers; the whiskey trade and the NWMP sent to combat it; the relinquishment of Indigenous lands; the near extinction of the buffalo; and the signing of Treaty 7.

The exhibit features pieces from Lougheed House Collection; the Local History Collection of the Calgary Public Library; Fort Calgary and Calgary’s Loch Gallery. Reproductions of rare maps and sketches of early Calgary are from University of Calgary Library Map Collection and Glenbow Museum.

Image credits:

Map of part of the North West Territory, including the province of Manitoba: shewing an approximate classification of the lands, by John Johnston. Courtesy University of Calgary

Colonel James Farquharson Macleod, N.W.M.P. Courtesy Glenbow Museum Archives NA-354-1.

Chief Crowfoot and Family (1884) R.G. Brook. Courtesy Glenbow Museum Archives NA-1104-1.


Permanent Exhibits

Every effort has been made to restore Beaulieu to its original look and feel of when the Lougheed family lived here. On the second floor you will find furnishings and artifacts from the turn of the 20th century, including objects original to the House.  We are constantly looking for other original and period (1890-1914) pieces to help us complete these exhibits. The Restoration Room, on the second floor, details the process of the restoration of the House and Gardens to their original condition after years of many different occupants. Throughout the House you will also be able to explore information about these occupants including the Dominion Provincial Youth Training Program, the Canadian Women’s Army Corps, and The Red Cross Society. If you are interested in helping us to continue restoring and furnishing Lougheed House through donations of artifacts and furnishings, or contribute to our knowledge of other periods of the House’s history, please contact Caroline Loewen, cloewen@lougheedhouse.com We would love to hear your anecdotes, memories, and stories, and would be grateful if you can share photographs or artifacts with us. Donations are essential to our collections, research, and programs.